Register / Log in

View Classic Site
Latest News
Merlin (mini-series)
The New 'The 3 Film Collection' Gathers the '98 Miniseries and Both Sequels!
Magical Legend of the Leprechauns, The (mini-series)
The 1999 Mini-Series is Getting a Re-Release, This Time with Digital Copy
Miami Vice
Mill Creek's 'Crime Time TV' DVD Set Combines 'Vice,' 'Knight Rider,' and More!
10th Kingdom, The (mini-series)
New Blu-ray and DVD Release of the Mini-Series Will Include Digital Copies!
Walking Dead, The
Early Cover Art Shuffles In for 'The Complete 8th Season'
more news
Pick of the Week
Latest Review

The Complete 8th Season

The Complete 1st Season

Kojak - 'The Marcus-Nelson Murders' (Pilot) is Included with 'The Complete Movie Collection' DVDs!

Shout! Factory's 4-DVD set, including the show's original TV movie, will be in stores this January

Posted by David Lambert
    "Who Loves Ya Baby?" The Kojak Movie Collection is on DVD for the First Time! Emmy and Golden Globe-winner Telly Savalas is television's greatest detective, Lieutenant Theo Kojak. He's got style, street smarts and a penchant for lollipops, and he's hitting the gritty streets of New York City in pursuit of some of television's toughest criminals. For nearly 20 years, Savalas brought life to one of TV's most beloved characters, throughout five seasons and eight TV movies.

    Now for the first time on DVD, all eight gritty and unforgettable mystery movies from 1973 -1990 are available in one collector's set! Includes the original pilot movie that started it all, which has never been released. Stars Telly Savalas, Ned Beatty (The Marcus-Nelson Murders), Barbara Barrie (Flowers for Matty), Angie Dickenson (Fatal Flaw), Rip Torn (None So Blind), and Max Von Sydow (The Belarus File).
We had the scoop last Thursday that Shout! Factory is releasing Kojak - The Complete Movie Collection on DVD early next year. The 4-disc set, due out on January 24th, will cost $34.93 SRP for approximately 800 minutes, and in our previous report we speculated that it would probably include all 7 post-series reunion telefilms on this release. As you can see from the studio description quoted above, we've confirmed that it will not only include those, but also the never-before-on-DVD pilot telefilm, too! Here's a complete list of the included TV movies:
  1. The Marcus-Nelson Murders (1973)
  2. The Belarus File (1985)
  3. The Prince of Justice (1987
  4. Ariana (1989)
  5. Fatal Flaw (1989)
  6. None So Blind (1990)
  7. It's Always Something (1990)
  8. Flowers For Matty (1990)
The interesting thing that catches my eye about that list is the order Shout! puts them in: the episode guides I've always seen usually will list the three 1990-aired telefilms as broadcasting "Flowers for Matty" first, then "It's Always Something," and then later that year the final one, "None So Blind." We're not sure if the list order here reflects the order that these installments will appear on the DVDs, however. Nor do we know which order is "correct" as far as the show-owners are concerned. Either way, we're grateful that these are all coming home, especially the long missing-on-DVD pilot "The Marcus-Nelson Murders" (now we just need seasons three, four and five!). Here's a peek at the packaging:

UPDATE: Reader Marquanis White pointed out that the information posted above says this is a 4-disc set, and the Amazon listing shows the same thing, but the spine on the box art says "5 Disc Set." Which is it? We've confirmed with Shout! Factory that it actually is a 4-DVD release, and they will be correcting the typo on the package very soon. Our thanks to Marquanis for his e-mail about it!

Order this title from

Kojak - The Complete Movie Collection

Twitter Graphic

Link to this page:
All news for this show:
More info on this show:

Copyright 2001-2018
CBS Interactive
Contact us - Sitemap - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
A CBS Interactive Site