Register / Log in

View Classic Site
Latest News
Doctor Who
Early Package Art Arrives, Along With a Slight Date Change, for Blu-ray of 'Tom Baker: Season 1'
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Retailer Rumors Say to Expect a Re-Release of 'The Complete Classic Series Collection'
Broken (mini-series)
DVDs for the Acclaimed 2017 BBC Miniseries Starring Sean Bean
Invaders, The
'The Complete Series' of the 1967 Show Starring Roy Thinnes Lands At Last!
A DVD Re-Release of 'The Complete Series' for Skeet Ulrich's 2006 Show
more news
Pick of the Week
Latest Review

Lou Grant
The Complete 5th and Final Season

The Complete 1st Season

Fame - MGM/Fox Announces Seasons 1 & 2 DVD, Timed to Tie In with Remake Film

7 discs (some double-sided) brings us 38 episodes this September

Posted by David Lambert
Back in November 2005, MGM released the 16 episodes of Fame - Season 1, at a time when their DVD titles were being distributed to retail by Sony Pictures Home Entertainment. That was after a group of investors, 20% of which included Sony, bought out MGM in the 2004/2005 timeframe. Sony continued to distribute DVDs for MGM until May 2006, when MGM decided to strike a more beneficial retail distribution deal with Fox Home Entertainment instead. At that time, all titles distributed under the MGM/Sony agreement went out of print, including Fame - Season 1.

Now, with a new theatrical remake of Fame (whose cast includes Kelsey Grammer, Megan Mullally, Charles S. Dutton, Bebe Neuwirth and original Fame cast member Debbie Allen) slated to hit theaters on Sept. 25th of this year, MGM has decided to try the home video route for the TV spin-off series once again. MGM and distributor Fox Home Entertainment have announced that Fame - Seasons 1 & 2 will come to a 7-disc set on September 15th. The cost will be $39.98 SRP in the USA, and CA$54.98 SRP in Canada. Running time is 1192 minutes, and the first 4 discs in the 7-disc set will be single-sided, containing the first season's 16 episodes. Then remaining 3 discs are double-sided, containing the 22 episodes from the show's second season (there were six seasons in all).

During the second season there was a special aired called "The Kids From Fame Live"; there is no indication so far that this piece will be found on the set. However, a featurette about Debbie Allen will be included on the back side of the 7th DVD. The first season episode "Come One, Come All" specifically notes that "This episode has been musically edited"; no other episode listed in the studio's materials currently bears such a remark. Video will be full frame, and music will be in English Stereo in some places, and English Mono in others (the info doesn't specify which, but it could be a difference between the two seasons). No other details are currently available, nor is package art ready yet. But stay tuned and we'll update you as we find out more!

Twitter Graphic

Link to this page:
All news for this show:
More info on this show:

Copyright 2001-2018
CBS Interactive
Contact us - Sitemap - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
A CBS Interactive Site