Register / Log in

View Classic Site
Latest News
'The Complete Collection' DVDs: Release Date, Cost, Box Image, Pre-Order Link!
Amazing Race, The
The World Has Been Waiting...Now 'The 22nd Season' and 'The 23rd Season' Are Both Here!
This Show Never Dies! Blu-ray Disc and DVD Plans for 'The Complete 13th Season'
Big Bang Theory, The
Blu-rays and DVDs are Proposed for 'The Complete 11th Season'
Rifleman, The
Release Date Announced for 'The Official Season 5: Episodes 143-168'...The Final Season!
more news
Pick of the Week
Latest Review

Mystery Science Theater 3000

The Complete 1st Season

Defying Gravity - The Short-Lived ABC Series Launches on DVD Early in the New Year

Fox to release every episode, including 5 that were never seen on TV in the USA

Posted by David Lambert
    Set in the very near future, eight astronauts from five countries undertake a mysterious six-year international mission on the spaceship Antares. This sexy and provocative sci fi thriller follows 4 men and 4 women through the solar system where their pasts reveal intimate and interconnected secrets that have a strange effect on the present and mysteries yet to be revealed.
James Parriott (Voyagers!, Misfits of Science, Forever Knight, Dark Skies) created the recent series Defying Gravity, This futuristic journey was short-lived, as ABC only aired 8 of the 13 produced episodes before canceling the mission. But Fox Home Entertainment has announced a home video release of Defying Gravity - The Complete 1st Season. Lift-off is scheduled for January 19th.

Wait, "The Complete 1st Season"? Yes, that's what both the announcement and the package art (shown below) currently say. At first there had been conflicting info about whether or not the series had actually been canceled, but more recent word strongly indicates that it won't be returning (notably some general comments from show creator Parriott about "how the show would have went," if allowed to continue, and a report about the destruction of the show's set). So we expect the title to be updated at some point to say "The Complete Series"...but for now, we're going with what's on the official studio announcement!

According to the box art, Fox Home Entertainment will bring this out on 4 DVDs, with all 13 produced episodes on board (including the 5 unaired-in-the-USA episodes). The announcement is only for standard DVD; there is no Blu-ray format version mentioned. Running time is 578 minutes for the following:
  1. Pilot
  2. Natural Selection
  3. Threshold
  4. H21K
  5. Rubicon
  6. Bacon
  7. Fear
  8. Love, Honor, Obey
  9. Eve ate the Apple
  10. Bad Déjà vu Nightmare
  11. Solitary
  12. Venus
  13. Kiss
No bonus material has been mentioned for this release. Video is anamorphic widescreen, and audio is in English 5.1 Dolby Digital EX. Subtitles are in English, French and Spanish. Cost will be $49.98 SRP in the USA, and CA$59.98 SRP in Canada. Here is the early package art we mentioned above (subject to possible change), showing the title of "Defying Gravity - The Complete 1st Season":

Defying Gravity - The Complete 1st Season

Twitter Graphic

Link to this page:
All news for this show:
More info on this show:
Defying Gravity

Copyright 2001-2017
CBS Interactive
Contact us - Sitemap - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
A CBS Interactive Site