Register / Log in

View Classic Site
Latest News
Pink Panther Show, The
'Sheriff Hoot Kloot' and 'The Blue Racer' on Home Video
Big Little Lies
Possible Street Date Found for Blu-ray Discs, DVDs of the HBO Mini-Series
Duck Dynasty
'The Final Season: Last Call'...the 11th Season on DVD
Expanse, The
The Syfy Outer Space Series is Announced on DVD, Blu-ray for 'Season 2'
Magicians, The
Blu-ray Discs and DVDs Announced for 'The Complete 2nd Season'
more news
Pick of the Week
Latest Review

The Last Ship
The Complete 3rd Season

The Complete 1st Season

Callan - Question from Twitter Answered: What Does Set 1 do about Missing Episodes?

Acorn Media replies that they're starting with the color episodes from Series 3

Posted by David Lambert
Yesterday we posted news from Acorn Media, announcing that the classic 1967 U.K. program starring Edward Woodward (Equalizer) is coming to DVD on July 7th with Callan - Set 1. But a "set" isn't the same thing as a "series" or "season," and the word choice in the title, along with the knowledge that the episode archives aren't complete these days, prompted one of our readers on Twitter to ask us about it. @P_T_RYAN posted this query as a "tweet" on Twitter, in response to our post for the Callan story's headline:
    @TVShowsOnDVD Given that about half of the first two seasons of Callan are missing, is there any word on what episodes this will have?
A very good question, Paul, and our thanks for you asking it! We promptly passed it along to Acorn Media, and they've quickly responded to it. Acorn explains: "Callan started out B&W and then went to color episodes. We are releasing the first color episodes of the series, though it's possible we may release the available B&W episodes at a later date." So the 6 episodes from Series 1 and the 15 episodes from Series 2 aren't among the ones on this release; Acorn is picking straight up with Series 3, when Callan has recovered from being shot at the end of Series 2 and is getting back on the job (in color). Acorn has provided us with a detailed list of the episodes which will be found on their upcoming release. Stay tuned for cover art:
  • Disc 1:
    • Episode 1: Where Else Could I Go?
        After five months in the hospital recuperating from near-fatal gunshot wounds, Callan returns to his section to find the upstart Cross after his position. Under the doubting eye of his superior, the agent must prove that he still has the will to kill.
    • Episode 2: Summoned to Appear
        When Callan and Cross's tail on a Polish operative goes horribly wrong and an innocent bystander dies, Callan must testify at the inquest. His dilemma: perjure himself or implicate his fellow agent and expose the Section.
    • Episode 3: The Same Trick Twice
        Surtees, a British agent recently returned in a prisoner exchange, threatens to publish an explosive tell-all account of his activities, complete with scandalous details. Suspecting that the KGB has turned Surtees, Hunter orders Callan to stop him.
  • Disc 2:
    • Episode 4: A Village Called 'G'
        The entire section goes on red alert when Liz, Hunter's ever-punctual secretary, fails to show up for work. Trying to trace her, Callan begins to suspect that Liz's disappearance involves not an enemy from the present, but a ghost from her past.
    • Episode 5: Suddenly - At Home
        Lady Janet Lewis - the beautiful widow of an ex-foreign secretary - accepts a TV producer's lucrative offer for an interview about her husband. Suspicious of the producer's intentions, Hunter assigns Callan to stop her, but the assignment gets personal.
    • Episode 6: Act of Kindness
        When Heathcote Land receives incriminating photos of his company's sales manager in bed with a mistress, Callan tries to persuade him not to expose the man. But Land knows too well how such games are played.
  • Disc 3:
    • Episode 7: God Help Your Friends
        Callan must break up the engagement between a lovely NATO interpreter with a grade-A security clearance and a man suspected of serving as a KGB informant. Does the woman's fiancé really love her? Or does he love Moscow more?
    • Episode 8: Breakout
        By surrendering to the police, wily KGB operative Nikolai Lubin seeks safety in a British prison, out of reach of Hunter and the Section's interrogators. Hunter, however, has other plans - engineering Lubin's "escape" under the guise of a KGB operation.
    • Episode 9: Amos Green Must Live
        When a visiting black activist turns up dead, a clue at the scene suggests that controversial anti-immigration politician Amos Green will be the assassin's next target. While Cross covers Green, Callan seeks the killer.

Twitter Graphicfacebook Graphic

Link to this page:
All news for this show:
More info on this show:

Copyright 2001-2017
CBS Interactive
Contact us - Sitemap - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
A CBS Interactive Site